Sign In  |  Register  |  About Daly City  |  Contact Us

Daly City, CA
September 01, 2020 1:20pm
7-Day Forecast | Traffic
  • Search Hotels in Daly City

  • ROOMS:

The 8th Annual Flint Youth Film Festival Crowns Its Winners

By: PRLog

FLINT, Mich. - July 26, 2023 - PRLog -- The 8th Annual Flint Youth Film Festival, held on Saturday, July 22, 2023. Presented by iMichigan Productions, this year's festival was a resounding success, captivating audiences with an exceptional showcase of talent and creativity from young filmmakers across Michigan.

The Flint Youth Film Festival has become a beacon of inspiration, providing a platform for emerging filmmakers to exhibit their passion for storytelling and filmmaking. This year's festival saw an extraordinary array of submissions, each reflecting the diverse perspectives and innovative storytelling of the young minds behind them.

The festival's Director, Justin R. Brown, expressed his elation at the overwhelming response to the event. "The Flint Youth Film Festival continues to exceed our expectations year after year. Witnessing the dedication and talent of these young filmmakers is truly inspiring. We are proud to offer them a stage to shine and share their unique voices with the world."

The final three awards, the Industry Award, Heart Award, which is for a film that shows passion from the entrant(s) which outshine all others and the Audience Choice Award will be presented on Friday, July 28, 2023, at the Ferris Wheel, 615 S. Saginaw St., Flint, MI | 5:00 PM – 8:00 PM.  The reception will feature Mayor Sheldon Neeley and Celebrity Host Colette Boyd, Anchor, WNEM TV5. Tickets are still available. To reserve TICKETS.

Here are the outstanding winners of the 8th Annual Flint Youth Film Festival:

13-15 Achievement Award
#lifeon2wheels – Austin Kim

Behind the Camera – Grace Ann Greenfield

Color Blind – Susannah Norris

Monster – Ashoka Kerns

Parting Ways – Gio Guerrero

Repurposed – Blake Jarvis

The Best Day – Isla McKenna

The Trash Pandemic – Maddie, Ben, & Brendan

Yesterday, Again – Noah Shin

16-18 Fiction

1st Place: The Plan – Jonah Pagenhart

Runner-Up: Undaunted - Ella Arlene

16-18 Non-Fiction

1st Place: The Small Things – Nico Lyle Rivera

Runner-Up: Stories Through Bone – Matthew Wilbur

19-21 Fiction

1st Place: Girls Night – Emil Galloup

Runner-Up: Chained – Ashley Orellana

19-21 Non-Fiction

1st Place: Call Me Pretty – Jake Tollman

Runner-Up: I Believe I Can Fly – Lisa Dodell

22-25 Fiction

1st Place: Deep Tissue – Manya Glassman

Runner-Up: The Reflection of Francisca Newman – Jon Frenkel Garcia

22-25 Non-Fiction

1st Place: The Final Hours of South U Pizza – Sriram Paplou

Runner-Up: They Call Me Manu – Hannah Moore & Diana Durazo


1st Place: "This is my experience abroad…" – Alisha Hensle

Runner-Up: Snivelsnout – William Soule


1st Place: Decomposition – Cam Topping

Runner-Up: Space Exploration 77 – Fabiola Escobar

Craft Awards

16-18 Fiction

Killer Chiropractor – Evan Nowack & Rose Akbari

19-21 Fiction

Boxes – Caleb Stevens, Caleb Gritsko, & Ben Matthews

22-25 Fiction

Deep Tissue – Manya Glassman


Snivelsnout – William Soule

16-18 Fiction
The Plan – Jonah Pagenhart

16-18 Non-Fiction
The Small Things – Nico Lyle Rivera

19-21 Fiction
Boxes – Joseph Stevens & Caleb Stevens

19-21 Non-Fiction
Call Me Pretty – Jake Tollman

22-25 Fiction
Deep Tissue – Manya Glassman

22-25 Non-Fiction
The Final Hours of South U Pizza – Sriram Papolu

The Farmer and the Lightning Storm – Danielle Browne

16-18 Fiction
The Plan – Jonah Pagenhart

16-18 Non-Fiction
Stories Through Bone – Matthew Wilbur & Antonio Armango

19-21 Fiction
The Goon – Sean Park & Amar Mohamed

19-21 Non-Fiction
Wisconsin State Parks: The Volunteers – Katelyn Erath

22-25 Fiction
The Reflection of Francisca Newman – Alejandra Rubiera

22-25 Non-Fiction
The Final Hours of South U Pizza – Sriram Paplou

The Flesh of Another – Porter Hunt

Missed the Live Broadcast? Catch the Exciting Rebroadcast of the 8th Annual Flint Youth Film Festival Awards


The Flint Youth Film Festival introduces the art of filmmaking to young filmmakers between the ages of 13 and 25. It provides young filmmakers with venues for developing their storytelling talents. The program provides opportunities to share creative work with peers, the public, and professional filmmakers. By introducing our youth to the film industry, the program provides them with new media to express their creativity, improve their communication skills, and benefit their community.

At present, festival officials are notifying these filmmakers of the official selections that will be part of the festival and getting those films ready to be judged by professionals from around the country.

The festival entrants are divided into four age groups, 13-15, 16-18, 19-21 and 22-25 years of age. The three older groups' films are divided into fiction, nonfiction, experimental and animation, open to all ages.

The Flint Youth Film Festival is sponsored by iMichigan Productions, Flint Institute of Arts, Share Art Genesee, James A. Welch Foundation, A.G. Bishop Charitable Trust, and the Charles Stewart Mott Foundation.  This activity is supported in part by the Michigan Arts and Culture Council and the National Endowment for the Arts.


iMichigan Productions is a youth-based organization that provides reading and writing skill-based learning through the arts.  Our programs serve to support the youth in developing the necessary skills to pursue a career in the film and television industry.  We serve an average of 300 youth ages 13 – 25 annually.

iMichigan Productions is a 501(c) (3) non-profit led by media professionals with over one hundred years of collective experience in the classroom and behind the lens in producing television, film, video, and other media projects. For more information:


Our mission is to inspire emerging filmmakers aged twenty-five and under to harness the power of storytelling to encourage positive change in the world.

Sheila Gilmore

Read Full Story - The 8th Annual Flint Youth Film Festival Crowns Its Winners | More news from this source

Press release distribution by PRLog

Data & News supplied by
Stock quotes supplied by Barchart
Quotes delayed at least 20 minutes.
By accessing this page, you agree to the following
Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.
Copyright © 2010-2020 & California Media Partners, LLC. All rights reserved.